Error loading page.
Try refreshing the page. If that doesn't work, there may be a network issue, and you can use our self test page to see what's preventing the page from loading.
Learn more about possible network issues or contact support for more help.

The Book of Isaias

ebook

**FIRST PLACE for the Best Political/Current Affairs Book, International Latino Book Awards 2017**

**One of Southern Living's Best Books of 2016**

**OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2017 Social Justice Book List published by The National Network of State Teachers of the Year (NNSTOY)

  • Boston Public Library Latino Life Booklist
  • Chicago Public Library Hispanic Heritage Month Booklist
  • Books for Welcoming Week by King County Library System (Washington State)**

    A fast-paced nonfiction narrative that will help you understand today's immigration battles

    18-year-old high school senior Isaias Ramos plays in a punk rock group called Los Psychosis and likes to sing along to songs by Björk and her old band, the Sugarcubes. He's so bright that when his school's quiz bowl goes on local TV, he acts as captain.

    The counselors at school want him to apply to Harvard. But Isaias isn't so sure. He's thinking about going to work painting houses with his parents, who crossed the Arizona desert illegally from Mexico.

    Despite the obstacles and his own doubts, Isaias sets out on the journey to become the first in his family to go to college. He faces make-or-break standardized testing, immigration bureaucracy and absurdly high college costs. And most importantly, the siren song of doubt.

    This simple story reflects broader truths. Mexican immigration has brought the proportion of Hispanics in the nation's youth population to roughly one in four. Every day, children of immigrants make decisions about their lives that will shape our society and economy for generations.

    In the tradition of Friday Night Lights and A Hope in the Unseen, this deeply human narrative offers a powerful antidote to the heated political rhetoric about immigrants and their children.


  • Expand title description text
    Publisher: St. Martin's Publishing Group

    Kindle Book

    • Release date: October 4, 2016

    OverDrive Read

    • ISBN: 9781250083074
    • File size: 2585 KB
    • Release date: October 4, 2016

    EPUB ebook

    • ISBN: 9781250083074
    • File size: 2585 KB
    • Release date: October 4, 2016

    Loading
    Loading

    Formats

    Kindle Book
    OverDrive Read
    EPUB ebook

    Languages

    English

    **FIRST PLACE for the Best Political/Current Affairs Book, International Latino Book Awards 2017**

    **One of Southern Living's Best Books of 2016**

    **OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2017 Social Justice Book List published by The National Network of State Teachers of the Year (NNSTOY)

  • Boston Public Library Latino Life Booklist
  • Chicago Public Library Hispanic Heritage Month Booklist
  • Books for Welcoming Week by King County Library System (Washington State)**

    A fast-paced nonfiction narrative that will help you understand today's immigration battles

    18-year-old high school senior Isaias Ramos plays in a punk rock group called Los Psychosis and likes to sing along to songs by Björk and her old band, the Sugarcubes. He's so bright that when his school's quiz bowl goes on local TV, he acts as captain.

    The counselors at school want him to apply to Harvard. But Isaias isn't so sure. He's thinking about going to work painting houses with his parents, who crossed the Arizona desert illegally from Mexico.

    Despite the obstacles and his own doubts, Isaias sets out on the journey to become the first in his family to go to college. He faces make-or-break standardized testing, immigration bureaucracy and absurdly high college costs. And most importantly, the siren song of doubt.

    This simple story reflects broader truths. Mexican immigration has brought the proportion of Hispanics in the nation's youth population to roughly one in four. Every day, children of immigrants make decisions about their lives that will shape our society and economy for generations.

    In the tradition of Friday Night Lights and A Hope in the Unseen, this deeply human narrative offers a powerful antidote to the heated political rhetoric about immigrants and their children.


  • Expand title description text